Share & Enjoy

Real heroes don’t wear capes… they wear ski-masks.

Liberator

A hard-edged vigilante series about two young heroes who avenge the torture of animals, created by writer and real-life dog rescuer Matt Miner (Occupy Comics) with art by Javier Sanchez Aranda (Star Trek: The Next Generation). Covers by Chris Burnham (Batman Incorporated), Tim Seeley (Hack/Slash), Yildiray Cinar (Earth 2), and Ben Templesmith (30 Days of Night).

*30% of Liberator profits will go to animal rescue initiatives.*

Liberator #1 cover

cover by Tim Seeley

LIBERATOR
Liberator (4 issue mini-series)
Writer/Creator: Matt Miner
Illustrator: Javier Sanchez Aranda
Colors: Joaquin Pereyra
Lettered & Edited by Vito Delsante
Extras Art by Yasmin Liang
Extras Colors by Kathryn Mann
Logo Design by Robin Helfritch
Production Artist: Vincent Kukua
Produced by Matt Pizzolo
Cover Artists:
issue 1 cover A – Tim Seeley, colors Rod Reis
issue 1 cover B – Yildiray Cinar,
background by Joel Gomez & Beth Sotelo
issue 1 cover C – Rod Reis
issue 1 cover D – designed by Matt Pizzolo
issue 2 – Yildiray Cinar, colors by Rod Reis
issue 3 – Ben Templesmith
issue 4 – Chris Burnham, colors by Rod Reis

“A really cool, progressive story about young outcast crusaders.”
-Scott Snyder (Batman, American Vampire, Superman Unchained)

“DEBUT OF THE YEAR… It has an infectious energy, a bold purpose, and will speak to many… I think Liberator strikes for the core of the movement and will resonate with a far wider audience than anything more explicit or shocking. This ain’t PETA, it’s far too considered and powerful for that… I’d say this is pretty unmissable.”
- Comics Beat (Laura Sneddon)
http://comicsbeat.com/advance-review-liberator-1-from-black-mask-studios/

“This comic really, really doesn’t screw around.”
- NY Post (William Vitka)
http://www.nypost.com/p/blogs/gamereport/animal_abusers_better_beware_of_vunfK1v0bFWyApVBps2UsI#axzz2WU6O7U6P

“Unlike any comic book project to date, Miner delivers a message about the world of animal abuse from the point-of-view of someone with expert knowledge on the matter, while blending it with a gritty protagonist in the vein of Batman or The Punisher.”
- ComicBooked (David Gillette)
http://www.comicbooked.com/kickstarter-spotlight-matt-miners-liberator-comic/

“Liberator is a fiercely strong, clever book that refuses to preach and takes great pains to explore it’s central issue. Make no mistake, it’s fiercely pro-Animal Rights and Animal Liberation but Miner is far too smart to use the book as a bully pulpit. Instead, he uses it to explore one man’s character and what defines it, from the people he’s with to the work he does and the past he seems to be running from. Not quite a superhero book, not quite a crime one but combining the best elements of both, Liberator is another strong release from Black Mask.”
- Bleeding Cool (Alasdair Stuart)
http://www.bleedingcool.com/2013/06/18/5-things-about-liberator-issue-1/

“Matt Miner’s ‘Liberator’ is a comic with a purpose, a voice, and a platform. It also happens to be incredibly well written and paced. It’s well worth your money, and some of the profits go to an incredible cause.”
- Bloody Disgusting (Jimbus Christ)
http://bloody-disgusting.com/news/3239298/review-liberator-1/

“It’s refreshing to see a comic hero fighting for something I care about, rather than protecting the financial security of the rich and middle class. The comic world hasn’t had anything approaching this since Grant Morrison’s Animal Man chickened out during a laboratory arson… Comic books have always had the power to make the impossible and outlandish seem attainable, allowing us to get lost in vibrant fantasy. Following in this tradition, Liberator helps to bridge the gap between superherodom and ourselves. Damon doesn’t do anything that any of us couldn’t, a fact which makes his acts all the more extraordinary. Let’s get some inspiration from this masked vigilante and challenge ourselves to see what extraordinary acts of criminal beauty we can commit.”
- Earth First Journal
http://earthfirstnews.wordpress.com/2013/06/19/comic-book-review-liberator-1/

“Miner has bravely taken up this task and delivered it beautifully. Liberator bridges the gap between two communities, expands consciousness and provides opportunities for a new generation of animal activists… Miner and his crew have created a revolutionary manifesto in comic form and deserves your support. Liberator sheds light on one of the most important and controversial social justice struggles of our time – freedom for non-human animals – and contextualizes the power of one’s actions to do something greater than ourselves.”
- Animal Liberation (Nicoal R. Sheen)
https://animalliberationpressoffice.org/NAALPO/2013/06/14/matt-miners-liberator-comic-review-by-press-officer-nicoal-r-sheen/

“Black Mask’s newest book continues the trend of publishing books on the precipice of the moment, covering issues other companies are too afraid to cover or more accurately, say they cover, but only touch on the topics as safely as possible so as not to alienate their corporate sponsors. LIBERATOR pulls none of these punches, focusing on the issue of animal abuse, neglect, and exploitation head on.”
- Ain’t It Cool News (Ambush Bug)
http://www.aintitcool.com/node/62940?utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter#1

“One of the most compassionate comics I have read this year, and its straightforward narrative simplicity is balanced nicely with complicated questions for the reader concerning animal sentience and definitions of atrocity and liberation to consider.”
- Capeless Crusader (Jeff Hayes)
http://capelesscrusader.org/2013/06/18/liberator-1/

“It’s intentionally thought-provoking: what’s worse, breaking the law, or allowing animals be abused?”
- Comic Vine (Jen Aprahamian)
http://www.comicvine.com/reviews/liberator-1/1900-1871/

“The book manages to be entertaining while informative and takes a serious look at a subject that seems to have fallen out of the public eye as of late. Miner’s narrative is well thought out and precise, paired nicely with Aranda’s artwork, which captures the horror of fur farms and thrusts it onto the page and into your eyeballs weather you want it to or not.”
- Bag & Bored (Brad Gischia)
http://bagandbored.net/2013/06/14/review-liberator-1/

“I encourage anyone who loves animals, and is outraged by the injustices routinely inflicted on them by humans, to pick up a copy of Liberator #1 when it arrives at your local comic book store this Wednesday.”
- Comic Book Justice (Richard De Angelis)
http://www.comicbookjustice.com/2013/06/17/sometimes-the-good-guys-wear-black/

“Mr. Miner I have a confession to make. When I first glanced through the book I wasn’t a fan. I thought to myself ‘oh boy, here’s a book that’s not gonna be too enjoyable…’ I thought it was gonna be preachy and come off just silly. Mr. Miner I offer up my apologies and I stand corrected. I sat down and I read Liberator and I processed it overnight. I thought about what I had read and how uncomfortable it made me and that it made me a little angry even.”
- Deadneck
http://dednecksdoodlebook.blogspot.com/2013/06/liberator-issue-1-review.html

“Epic and moving… this story’s message is one of the most important I’ve encountered in my entire readership of comics. I’m in complete awe of it.”
- Inter-Comics (James M. Clark)
https://www.inter-comics.com/blog/reviews/50-shades-of-blood-and-viscera-013-review-liberator-1%E2%80%B3

“Liberator is a comic that grabbed my attention right from the launch of its Kickstarter campaign. Spearheaded by animal rights activist Matt Miner, Liberator is a series about a masked superhero style activist who, under cover of nightfall, goes out and helps free dogs who are being mistreated. Miner himself actually uses all of his profits from the comic for dog rescue work, which should tell you all you need to know about how truly sincere the comic is.”
- Panels & Pixels
http://www.panelsandpixels.com/advance-comic-review-liberator-1/

“Liberator #1 debuted this week and is already selling out in comic shops everywhere.”
- Red Eye Chicago (Elliott Serrano)
http://www.redeyechicago.com/entertainment/geektome/redeye-matt-miner-liberator-interview-geek-to-me-20130621,0,3619868.story

Liberator #1 cover by Tim Seeley, colors by Rod Reis

Liberator #1 cover by Yildiray Cinar w/background by Joel Gomez & Beth Sotelo

Liberator #1 cover by Rod Reis

Liberator #1 cover designed by Matt Pizzolo

Liberator #2 cover by Yildiray Cinar, colors by Rod Reis

Liberator #2 cover by Ben Templesmith

Share & Enjoy